2300 Plantation Drive
Conroe, Texas 77303
Monday-Thursday 8am-6 pm
"STRIVING TO MAKE AN IMPACT"
Our Court handles various offenses that are committed by Juveniles and or Minors. A juvenile is any person that is under the age of seventeen (16 and under). A minor is any person that is between the age of seventeen but has not reached the age of twenty-one (17-20). The laws have changed in the last few years on how the court can deal with these defendants.
Judge Michael Davis handles between thirty and fifty Juveniles/Minors per week. Several of the schools are located in the City Limits of Conroe, so the Conroe Independent School District Police can file their case in our Court, which they do. Arraignment for these Juveniles is on the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Wednesdays of every month at 3:00 p.m. When a juvenile is directed to appear in Court, he/she must have a parent or guardian present with him/her. There is no exception to this rule and the Court must follow the State mandated conditions on this.
Our Judge feels that handling these juveniles and or minors at our level may alleviate any further trouble that they may be heading for. He takes the time to listen and adjudicates their case accordingly. Judge Davis feels that these young adults are our future and has a strong belief in helping them the best way he possibly can. He is committed to helping our youth as much as possible.
Deferred Disposition for traffic offenses:
A Deferred Disposition is a type of probation that you can request from the Judge. There is a fee that is assessed and you can be put on anywhere from a 90 to 180 day probation period. You cannot receive a citation during this probation period that results in a conviction. If you are under the age of 25 years old, you will be required to take a state certified defensive driving course and also participate in the "steer clear" program provided by the court. If you hold a provisional drivers license, you will also be required to be examined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and pay a $10 fee for the exam. Provisional drivers license holders will place a "How is my DRIVING" bumper sticker on their vehicle provided by the court for the entirety of the deferred.
JUVENILES, ARE YOU BREAKING THE LAW
Did you know that the City of Conroe has a curfew law and that you could be charged with a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500 for each occurrence?
The City of Conroe adopted a minor curfew law that sets limits for the times that minors under 17 years of age can be out. The full text can be viewed by clicking Code of Ordinances and then enter "curfew" in the search window.
WHAT IS A JUVENILE? A juvenile is any person under the age of 17.
WHAT ARE THE CURFEW HOURS? 11:00 PM on any Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday until 6:00 AM the following day and 12:01 AM until 6:00 AM on any Friday or Saturday.
WHAT OFFENSE CAN YOU BE CHARGED WITH? You can be charged with an offense if you remain in any public place or on the premises of any establishment within the city during curfew hours.
WHO ELSE CAN BE CHARGED? Besides the minor, the minor's parent or legal guardian can also be charged if he/she knowingly permits or allows by lack of control, a minor to remain in any public place or on the premises of any establishment within the curfew hours.
Also, the owner, operator, or employee of an establishment can be charged with an offense if they knowingly allow a minor to remain upon the premises during curfew hours.
WHAT IS THE FINE? Conviction of each offense for each day or part of a day during which the violation occurred is punishable by a fine of up to $500.00 each.
FOR MORE INFORMATION ON JUVENILE CURFEW VIOLATIONS PLEASE CONTACT THE CONROE MUNICIPAL COURT AT 936-522-3380.